Baby’s skin: delicate, sometimes irritated, plus the two complexions

Baby skin is weird. It heals itself without you doing anything about it. Well most of the time.
With baby May we have had to go an extra mile. Her skin is not fair and lovely as I would have loved; but hopefully we will get there.

First rash
Rashes that come and go are expected in baby’s first few weeks or months. The most common ones being baby acne, diaper rash and cradle cap.
I had been told about the rash that will appear on baby May’s cheeks and forehead but noone told me about the one that would cover her entire face. So imagine the scare I got when I woke up one morning to find baby May’s face covered in blotchy bumps.
What broke out on baby May’s face is called Erythema Toxicum Neonatorum. It is mostly common in full term babies (40/40 weeks). She didn’t scratch or even seem bothered by it, however it hurt to watch. Within two weeks it was gone, you would have never known it was once there.

On the right is May’s face when she had Erythema Toxicum Neonatorum. On the left is her face skin now,silky smooth.
Little Miss May never experienced diaper rash and cradle cap. Maybe I should give myself some credit here. Frequent changing of the diaper is important, with urine diapers I aimed for a change every 3 to 4 hours and poop diapers I changed them instantly. I did not want to risk her getting irritated from all the wetness or worse, an infection.
Prior to diaper changing, we had to know which brand worked best for baby May. I tried both huggies extra care and pampers premium. She tolerated both but I eventually settled on huggies extra care for her. I really loved the characters from Disney’s Winnie the Pooh and I found the wipes thicker,in comparison … plus they are alcohol free.

Heat rash

December had some pretty hot days and our little one didn’t like them at all. She didn’t use words to tell me but her body reacted. How baby dresses is very important. Never must she feel cold,never must she be too hot. When she’s cold, it’s risking hypothermia = a serious threat to the little one. When she’s hot, well it’s the heat rash and catching a cold. (Apparently when baby sweats from those hot clothes they become damp. That dampness transfers to her body = catching a cold. I didnt know that but hey, we never stop learning.
Cotton babygrows became my favourite dress code for Miss May. They are perfect when uncertain of how to dress her when it’s too hot as I couldn’t have her in just her nappy alone. For sleep time, I went for lighter blankets.

Breathable cotton babygrows/rompers/sleepsuits are versatile, perfect for everyday use. Comfortable for baby & convinient for mum. Plus less worry about socks.

Eczema
When my little brother was born I was only 3 but I vividly remember how his joints were constantly smeared in a pink/white paste aka calamine lotion. He would scratch and cry. When I realized my little one had eczema too my heart sank.
While it commonly affects the joints,on Miss May it was her legs and arms. She did not cry but you could tell she was uncomfortable as she attempted to scratch. To this day I make sure her nails are always cut to prevent injuring herself from all the scratching and when it’s one of those bad days I dress her hands in mittens.
Her skin did not tolerate most soaps and lotions, she reacted badly to them, even the ones said to be gentle and mild.
Eventually we found milk products(with milk proteins and plant oils). The body shampoo dried up and cleared off the eczema in no time. We just had to battle the issue of dry skin. Eczema dries up baby’s skin so constant moisturising is key. With every nappy change or after every 3 hours(whichever came first) I’d apply hydrating cream on MissMay’s little body. I also had to change my diet. In a few weeks, it will be 6 months since I last had sugar in my tea. I had to cut out most things confectionery. I haven’t been kind to my sweet tooth *sad*
Another important lesson from eczema; It is not necessary to bath baby everyday (she’s still a baby and not a toddler so she never really gets messy). A nice warm bath is favoured,yes, but so is skipping a day and just wiping baby down with a warm wash cloth. Baby’s skin is too delicate and dries up easily.

Miss May’s toiletries are still fragrance, colour and soap free as most products are harsh on skin. Virgin coconut oil is safe to use on baby,it moisturizes her sensitive skin though it leaves her smelling like tennis biscuits.

The two skin tones
This one is strange but it’s true. MissMay has two distinct skin tones. While it is said baby’s epiderms is one of the last things to fully develop and permanent skin tone takes months, I have never seen anything like this.
At some point I even thought it was a medical condition- it got ruled out. We will see as the years go by but should it not change, MayMay will just be the baby who chose to take after both her mum and dad’s complexions. Talk about equal love *wink* This baby is one of a kind.
Most rashes are harmless and require little to no treatment but it’s always best to consult with baby’s pediatrician/dermatologist to rule out any dangers that might become. Babies are unique in their own way, what affects one might not affect another and what works for one might not work for another. When it comes to babies One size definitely does not fit all. Just take care of that delicate skin as best as possible.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started